Accidential blogger

 photo 21dd1dae-68b0-4f81-91e9-be6b4ff8c519_zps9d067a5b.png

It’s funny how life works. Sometimes you think you are going to do “X” with your life only to come to “Y”,  an entirely different place. I was just thinking yesterday I could be photographing people, making craft videos, crafting and selling on Etsy, and working on a crafting business venture I’ve had in my mind for over a year…, you know, doing care free fun things… but NOPE, here I am blogging on Gifted advocacy of all things! lol.  I look at these other things and they look so colorful, lighthearted and fun… and yet here I’ve taken on this serious thing and I feel like a tiny fish in a vast dark sea.

One simple conversation I had with some ladies in a, “support group” got blown out of proportion. I lost some “so called” social media “friends” over a misunderstanding and something kind of frivolous. People looked at me crossed and I don’t blame them. It’s not like I expected them to understand because quite frankly, no one seems to understand this complex life of gifted. Saying your child is like someone’s child who has Autism sounds completely nuts to most and I’m sure would spark a firestorm of insults and an exchange of explicit words (which it almost did) and social “unfriending” (which it did). So I was trying to make sense of what happened and what I was talking about when it hit me like a ton of bricks just how unaware people are of what gifted is really like. That’s when the gears started turning and I couldn’t contain what I was thinking and I spat it all out on “technological paper”.

That piece really intended for my social media “friends”, moved my husband so much that he was like, “wow I’ve never really thought of any of this the way you wrote it”. The coincidental thing is, it brought clarity to the both of us just how out of the norm our family is. I mean really though, who’s family is “normal”? We realized just how much patience we need to have daily with our own children when it comes to their intensities and OE’s because they require more time, love and understanding from us. We became so use to our “norm” of the daily intensities, that we forgot just how intense our lives can be and how vastly different they are from the average person/family. Funny how things go. In the end, that blog post wasn’t just for others but was also for the very person who wrote it. Seeing how others could relate made it even more of a reality to us because we finally didn’t feel like we were living in denial or that our realities weren’t real. Talk about taking ones own advice to heart.

So, that post intended for my so called, “friends” ended up speaking volumes to me and I felt in my heart I just had to share it with the world.  At that moment I realized just how much people didn’t understand or grasp what I was saying. Suddenly, I found myself unknowingly advocating for my children and family. There was this instant drive in me to make a website/blog out of that post and I had an inner push to advocate on behalf of  not only my children, but all “gifted”. Little did I know, that post was going to go viral within in days of posting it, over 3000 people from over 15 countries were going to be able to relate to it and share it with their family and friends to help others understand. I’m still in shock and awe at just how quickly things snowballed. Sometimes things are just meant to be, I suppose. It spread like wildfire thanks to some amazing women for believing in me and seeing what I had to say as valid and relate-able.

So, in a nutshell, this is how this blog came to be. I’m no expert and I never expected to be advocating on behalf of “gifted”. It really was an accident… or was it? I suppose every parent ends up unknowingly/knowingly advocating for their kids and family in some way with what ever it may be… and I’ve come to know that gifted parents especially do as well.

This is only the beginning. Even though I’m not “crafting“, I realize this is much more important. In all honesty, I’m really excited to see where this will go and I thank you for taking the time to read and follow my blog.

I hope at some point you are able to join in and contribute your own story if you feel compelled to (anonymity is welcome! I understand how touchy and sensitive this topic can be to a lot of people). Someone recently told me,  “ the more open we are about things, the more we help others AND help ourselves“… and its soo true! If you would like to share your story with others and have it featured on my blog, go on over to the about page and contact me through the contact form. 

 

 Lets stop this “Tall Poppy Syndrome” together.
Lets embrace each other and help make this world a better place.

 

With much Love,

Nicole Diatto
patchworkpoppies

2 comments

  1. I feel the same way. I always thought I would blog about the “glittery” stuff; diy’s, fashion, writing (well, I am doing that too, haha), etc. My main blog is about the gifted child from a gifted teens perspective: me. Wow. That ideal changed quickly. I’m kinda new to the scene and I’ve already got a ton of support and I’m super happy about that because I feel like I’ve done something really necessary. I can’t wait to check out your blog. Keep it up!

    Like

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I can’t wait to check your blog out as well! Thank you for taking the time to read mine! It’s an honor to have such supportive people and being apart of such a great community! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

